Submitted Work: Politics and Power Project

(Writing from Critical Reflection on this specific work)

This work  I’ve chosen to submit prior to my election work  is the work that I contributed and created for Politics and Power. A project that myself and Alex Delaney created back in September.

For this project I was in charge of all graphics as well as all data journalism which meant making data packages for both episodes on topics concurrent with the theme of the show. The first episode only had a loose theme that was based on the run up to the General Election, whereas the second episode was centred around Eastleigh.

The work that I made for this project/show is some of the best work I’ve created since my time at University. Graphically the work is stunning and HD, the process of creating it meant self-teaching myself Adobe After Effects which I am now confident with.

The data work gave me the freedom (as co-producer with Alex) to go in my own direction with how I wanted the green screen to look and how I want the package to look/be styled. This freedom in itself taught me more about the technicality of Final Cut Pro but also, and more importantly, taught me more about the process of simplifying complex data.

 

These two links are the two election related Politics and Power episodes which I wish to submit for my FYP:

Episode 2: Eastleigh Special 

Episode 3: Election Special

(I wasn’t sure if you’d want to grade the 1st episode as part of the 3-paert series in general but if so. Link)